Another Story Of My Past!

As for back as I can remember in my life was 4 years old? I know that some folks will say anyone cain’t remember that far back! My Grandaddy migrated out of the Blueridge mountains around 1900’s! He and other relatives lived above Roswell Ga. He then bought all the land that he owned and which he gave 3 tracts to 3 of his children! I say all this to mention an elderly gentleman that owned 20 acres next to my Grandaddy’s who lived by himself ? All of my cousins and me used to try to understand him?He was a self contained type of a man! He had only distant relatives that visited about every 5 years! He lived in a log cabin and all of his adjacent outside buildings were made of log structure? He grew his vegetables and his peas and beans which he would wait untill they dried on vines and then stored them as dryed beans and peas to last all year? He planted about 17 acres of corn which he fattened his hogs and beef on which he used a smokehouse to cure his meat! He would buy his 5 pigs and 2 steers from my Granddaddy! He could make some good country Hams and Beef jerky? One of my uncles or my Grandaddy would carry him to town to get what supplies he needed about every 3 months! He had his own well which he drew his water from.  He had no electricity and we used to ask him about a drink of icewater and he would tell us we didn’t need ice?He had only oil lamps in his cabin and the old saying that some of us have heard  ” that they go to bed with the chickens ” was true about this man? He could make a fiddle talk and sing and about dusk dark you could hear him playing his fiddle just about every day ! We used to invite him to church all the time and he would always say thanks but God had already given him his little part of heaven! I have always thought about whether he made it to heaven?  He lived acording to his calculations to be 93 years old? When he died every body never thought that he was worth anything and his distant relative sold his 20 acres which another farm next to him bought 18 acres and another guy bought the other 2 acres which he tore down all the log structures and built another home in its place! While tearing down the log cabin this guy found $56,000 dollars which he could not locate his relatives to share with them ? I tell this story to ask , do you have a plan for your life as this man did? I mentioned about him going to church and wondered if he made it to heaven? I believe that God supplied his needs ! What may be your thoughts ? In your spare time turn up volume and listen to this url that shares some of our heritage ?   http://mybeautifulamerica.com/BeautifulDixie.htm  Blessings to all.  and have a blessed sunday?    Ron.

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Corry said,

    The only plan I have, is to serve God to the best of my ability. God has plans for me and I will go where He leads me.

    Sounds like this man not only had what he needed, but also what he wanted. He called it “his little part of heaven”. He may not have attended church, but I would not be surprised at all if he praised God constantly for all the blessings that were bestowed upon him. Something I need to do more often! 🙂

    Have a wonderful, blessed weekend!

    God’s Grace.

  2. 2

    donna said,

    I would like to live like that just once before I die (I think…LOL)……but I am trying very hard to do God’s will, let him have control of my life, so I don’t know where MY plan fits in…

    sounds like this man was happy indeed.

  3. 3

    rrbj said,

    Corry and Donna thanks for your comment. Papa Cauly is what we called him! He was a cut and dried type of man but he showed respect for his neighbors and us mischevious boys ? He could hold our interest in his stories he told ? Corry you could tell he loved God ! Donna your plan will fit in but be patience and let God be in control because it has to be Gods plan for you? Blessings ! Ron.

  4. 4

    Gordon Cloud said,

    Some would call this man poor. It sounds to me though, like he was pretty rich (and I’m not talking about money).

    This is a great story, Bro. Ron. I am glad you shared it with us.

  5. 5

    rrbj said,

    He didn’t expect nothing from no one Bro. Gordon , what I mean is he was there if you needed him but as long as I knew him he wouldn’t ask for anything? He used to say that God was taking care of him! See you tonight at revival services which I am enjoying . Ron.

  6. 6

    Dana said,

    Hey Ron, I really enjoyed this post, sounds like he kept life simple and uncomplicated. I could just feel the peace as I read. Thanks for sharing this story.

  7. 7

    rrbj said,

    Dana , he not only kept life simple but the thought that comes to my mind is how many people could survive in this day and time? Blessings . Ron.

  8. 8

    amycloud said,

    Ron, I agree that he was rich in life. I’m like Donna I would like to try to live like that if I could take my dishwasher, washer, dryer, computer, etc. Maybe I wouldn’t want to live that way after all. LOL!

  9. 9

    Beverly said,

    That’s a great story. I wonder if we could live like that today when we’re so accustomed to so many conveniences.

    Ron, you can forward me all the e-mails you want, now that I know who you are. 🙂

  10. 10

    Tim A. Blankenship said,

    Thanks for sharing this story Ron. It does us all good to here of folks who live in the hils, depend on God, and become wealthy in wisdom.
    Bless you

  11. 11

    rrbj said,

    Thanks Amy-Beverly-and Bro. Tim for the comments ! I don’t think many would give up their modern way of living! I remember when we used to bath in a washtub in the kitchen by the wood stove after heating water on the stove! It was kind of convient in summer time cause we would bath outside under the water hose! We didn’t have TV only a radio that was turned onearly every morning and a good breakfast that stuck to your ribs [ no junk food unless it was a biscuit full of cow butter and blackberry jelly or fig preserves]. As I have said before we were blessed? Ron.

  12. 12

    Bill said,

    Wow, that is such a different day and age where things were simple. I do pray that this man knew the Lord and was born again. But only God truly knows at this point in time…..thank youf rosharing this story.

    Bill

  13. 13

    rrbj said,

    Thanks for stopping by Bill and life was much more simple in the early to mid 50’s, I was about 5 or 6 years old . Blessings . Ron.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

