You Are What You Are ?

godtop.jpgAll my life I have heard this especially from the elderly when I was young.

  “Its not what you gather in life, but what you scatter that tells what kind of life you have lived “.

   Several years ago , a preacher from out-of-state accepted a call to a church in Houston, Texas. Some weeks after he arrived, he had the opportunityto ride the bus from his home to the downtown area.

   When he sat down he discovered that the driver had accidently given him a quarter too much in change.

   As he considered what to do , he thought to himself, “you’d better give the quarter back It would be wrong to keep it. ” Then he thought , ” Oh, forget it, its only a quarter. Who would worry about this little amount anyway, and the bus company gets too much fare allready, they will nevermiss it. Accept it as a gift from God and keep quiet.”

   When his stop came, he paused momentarily at the door, then he handed the quarter to the driver and said,” Here you gave me too much change. “

    The driver, with a smile , replied, “Aren’t you the new preacher in town? I have been thinking a lot lately about going somewhere to worship. I just wanted to see what you would do if I gave you to much change. I’ll see you at church on Sunday. “

   When the preacher stepped off the bus , he literally grabbed the nearest light pole, held on, and said,.

    “Oh God I almost sold your SON for a quarter .”

    Our lives are the only Bible some people will ever read. This is a really scary example of how much people watch us as Christains and will put us to the test ! Always be on guard–and remember–You carry the name of Christ on your shoulders when you call yourself “Christian.”

   ” Watch your thoughts, they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits.Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.”

     The moral is ” We will not be remembered by our words , but by our kind deeds.”

     Blessings to all.              Ron.

28 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kc said,

    Great message Bro. Ron! I really appreciate all your efforts here in the blogsphere. May God continue to bless you in every way. 🙂

  2. 2

    Corry said,

    Grandpaw, this is beautiful! Thanks for sharing.

    Many blessings to you today!

    God’s Grace.

  3. 3

    Tony Sisk said,

    Ron,

    WOW! What a story! It made me stop and think how little I sell my Savior out for; much, much less than a measly quarter.

    And to think that I could keep someone form coming to know Jesus or from being a part of His glorious church, I cannot bear the thought of it. Everyone deserves to read this post and ponder its message Brother Ron!

    Gratefully,
    Bro Tony

  4. 4

    jel said,

    Thanks Grandpaw!

    I need it to hear that! 😉

  5. 5

    rrbj said,

    Hi, Everyone ,

    Bro. KC, Thanks , I can use all the prayers I can get ! God has blessed me more times than I deserve?

    Corry, my pleasure anytime, I had another good time today cause I got to keep 5 little blessings again this morning ?

    Thanks Bro Tony, What is so unique is the fact that your post about the “Ironed Pants” I had not read untill this morning but they go hand and hand ? Could It be someone planned it that way ? When I read my post myself It made me think also !

    Janice your are welcome anytime cause I treat my adopted ones no different than my own ? Kinda Like Being Grandpaw ?

    B l e s s i n g s t o a l l !
    R o n .

  6. 6

    donna-in-NY said,

    Thank you Ron for this reminder….

    Blessings
    donna

  7. 7

    rrbj said,

    Hi Donna,

    Thanks , and many thanks for your good posts. Even though I don’t always comment , they are always an inspiration to me.

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  8. 8

    Terry said,

    Hey Amazing grace man…Tell Grandpaw that the mean old Canadian woman is glad that her email gets through alright now.

    Can you please tell Ron that I swiped this most escellent post here and brought it over to the Pilgrim Pals?

    Thanking you in abvance…from Terry

  9. 9

    hebrews11:1 said,

    Hi, Grandpaw–can I use that name, too, for you? Like I don’t have enough grandpas…I think I have 4 on earth, and 1 in heaven…okay, 2 in heaven, counting one I never met or knew a thing about.

    I like this story a lot! I read it over on Pals. I read your comment on Gracey’s, too…what do you think it’ll take to make her tell us that story?! Uh, oh, maybe that’s why her big sister hasn’t written me in awhile….

    God bless you,
    Lil Pilgrim Pal

  10. 10

    rrbj said,

    Thanks for dropping by Terry,
    I will pass the word on to Grandpaw, but I must let you know that Judge Judy will be contacting you if you sell any thing you confiscated over here ?You see I know that anyone cain’t change over night but I just don’t know about that ” mean old canadian lady ” .

    hebrews 11:1 ,
    Yes you can call me Grandpaw, the bigger the family the merrier! You might better watch Terry cause they ain’t no telling what she’ll do ? I’d offer Gracey money but I ain’t got none . If she was too write the story Terry would break her fingers . That’s why she is called ” the mean old canadian lady”.

    B L E S S I N G S .
    R O N .

  11. 11

    Terry said,

    Aw and Here I was talking so nice about you Amazing grace man..sniff..niff..Terry

  12. 12

    rrbj said,

    Hi Terry,

    Don’t give up Terry I still have hope for you ?

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  13. 13

    amycloud said,

    Great story, Ron. It has blessed and challenged me. Thanks for all the sharing you do with us. Blessings.

  14. 14

    rrbj said,

    Thanks Amy,

    You and Bro. Gordon are a blessing to me also ? As I said on another blogsite , I always enjoy socializing with Gods C hildren !

    B L E S S I N G S .
    R O N .

  15. 15

    Terry said,

    Hello Amazng grace man…
    Gracey has tried to comment here but said the message bounced back.
    Could I put your site on her favorite liinks?..Let me know alright?..From Terry

  16. 16

    rrbj said,

    Hi Terry ,

    I certainly don’t mind at all, but It probably has something to do with my new security program !

    I will check my surgemail account and see ?

    Blessings and wishing ya’ll a blessed weekend!
    Ron.

  17. 17

    nephos said,

    Great story, Ron. It’s all about character and integrity.

  18. 18

    rrbj said,

    Thanks for dropping by Cameron,

    Yes and I get accused of a little humor to go with the other .

    Blessings. Ron.

  19. 19

    Mrs Zeke said,

    Oh boy I need to get to work:)

    Nice post Ron I am way to old to call you grandpa:)

    Be loved you are

  20. 20

    rrbj said,

    Hello Mrs Zeke,

    Glad You stopped by and just why do you need to get to work?

    Well if you need a grandpa I will certainly agree to be your grandpa , maybe we could just pretend !

    Be loved you are !

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  21. 21

    pia said,

    this is so true. as i read along, i couldn’t help saying OMG and thought if i had the same or even similar encounter in the past. we really should be careful. btw, i was reading my previous posts and i saw your comment. just want to say how grateful i am for your prayers for me and my husband. the battle is not over yet. he’s still in the US and i’m still here in the philippines but i know we will be together soon. thank you, ron, for your mighty prayers.

  22. 22

    rrbj said,

    Hi Pia,

    Good to hear from you . There are many things in life that we don’t understand ? There are many times I cross some words in my life that make me think of past experiences and If I could do it over what a difference it would make ?

    We are all sinners and fall short of the glory of God , but its so wonderful to know how much our heavenly Father loves each of us !

    I pray that everything works out for ya’ll but if it does not then it was not meant to be but always remember that you can find peace thru prayers and trust and faith in God ! Then ask God to show you a new and better day ? He never fails !

    Blessings to you !
    Ron.

  23. 23

    Beverly said,

    Hi, Ron,
    That is such a good story. It really makes one think. Thanks for stopping by so often and remembering me with your e-mails.

    I’m on my way next week to see sweet baby Ella and celebrate her first birthday!

  24. 24

    Dana said,

    Hi Ron, this was a wonderful story, I have been busy the last few weeks, it’s great to stop by and catch up and read something that makes us stop and think about how everything we do matters. Thaniks and God Bless!! Keep on Preachin!!

  25. 25

    rrbj said,

    Hi Beverly,

    I have enjoyed all the pictures of your trip . I always like to communicate by the world wide web ?

    Give little Ella a great big birthday hug from me ? I pray she continues growing and doing ok ?

    Blessings.
    Ron.

  26. 26

    rrbj said,

    Hi Dana,

    Good to hear from you. I know when I was working that I probable wouldn’t have as much time , as I do now to visit blogs ! It is a nice way to kill time and to keep me from being mischevious !

    My 12 year old grandson Cole has started a blog . When I read mine every morning that I keep them he enjoys it ?

    His blogspot is http://cole12.wordpress.com/ or visit my sidebar and click on Cole.

    Wishing you and yours a blessed weekend !
    Ron.

  27. 27

    Terry said,

    Good morning Amazing grace man…
    Just having to leave soon for picking up kids for Sunday school but thought I would say hi and blessed Lord’s Day to you.

    I am so grateful for you in your encouraging Gracey so much.
    Betty bought her a camera, so she will be taking a lot of pictures and posing her own soon instead of swiping all of mine!
    I still have to finish her birthday post. Last evening I finally got pictures with each child in with her. It looks like that pest, Jusitn is my favorite because I put three pictures of him and his mom but really whenever the family is together, you hardly see one of them without the other!

    Well catch you later.
    Give all my love to Grandpaw and Princess and tell that Biscuit to at least forgive this mean Canadian lady because I have been giving Ron such kind words at Jel’s
    Yes I said KIND!
    Hmmm…I wonder what mean words must sound like, eh??..from Terry

  28. 28

    rrbj said,

    Hey Terry,

    The mean canadian lady. Good to have you visit , and I hope you read my final answer over at Jel’s Place ? You see I got my computer under control and it only speaks out when somebody hurts my feelings because they are mean ?

    Biscuit went behind my back and went and contacted Judge Judy and got everything nearly out of controll and she went and got an abuse thing going ? I have to be careful what I say cause they might confiscate my computer sending messages across the border!

    Blessings and tell Gracey that she probably can comment now ?

    Ron.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

